About the Borders Railway

The Borders Railway is the northern section of the historical Waverley Route that once connected Edinburgh and Carlisle. The Waverley Route was closed in 1969, but in 2015 this picturesque stretch was reopened connecting Scotland’s capital city to the beloved borderlands of Sir Walter Scott. There are ten stations on the Borders Railway: Edinburgh Waverley, Brunstane, Newcraighall, Shawfair, Eskbank, Newtongrange, Gorebridge, Stow, Galashiels, Tweedbank.

The route is 35 miles long and from Edinburgh Waverley Station, it travels in an arc through the eastern suburbs of the city, passing near Portobello to reach Eskbank, Newtongrange and Gorebridge to the south in Midlothian. The track works its way up to the Falahill summit and then winds its way down the Gala Water valley crossing the river over 17 times. Passing through Stow and Galashiels, the line crosses the River Tweed to its terminus at Tweedbank.

In November 2014, the Scottish Government published a 'blue print' document setting out the government's ambitions to, " realise the full economic benefits of the new Borders Railway, transform tourism opportunities and open up communities in South-East Scotland as new places to live, work, visit, learn, play and grow."

The Borders Railway Community Partnership intends to be a key player in realising these ambitions.

The Borders Railway Community Partnership is a not for profit organisation that has the purpose of serving your community.
The Borders Railway is for you - so have your say and help shape its future by contacting The Borders Railway Community Partnership.

In association with

Borders Railway Community Partnership